2012 AT Thru-Hike

The Last Week

The latter part of last week was spent with two of my buddies: Kyle and Joey, we went fishing on Wednesday and Thursday. We were all successful and were able to catch a few Crappie, Brim, along with two tiny Bass. Joey caught a 6 lb Bass, which had huge mouth on him. I spent this weekend in Lafayette, LA with two of my roommates from college who are now working in the oil industry. This was my first time to visit Lafayette and it was a great experience, my sister says Lafayette won an award for being one of “the best young cities of the South” and I understand why; this city is clean, many of the buildings are new, and there are many good local restaurants. Crawfish, shrimp, and oysters are a staple of Louisiana and luckily for me I love seafood because every restaurant we went to had crawfish for either an entree or appetizer.

This week has been devoted to spending time with the family, organizing and packing the rest of my gear. Last night we had stuffed bell peppers, squash, green beans, and French silk pie, it was great to have everyone around the table for dinner. I spent some time with my two Nephews: Grayson and John Robert who I know feel neglected because I have been so occupied with my final preparations. Today I’m finishing taxes, the last bits of my gear, and working on prototype alcohol burning stoves. This is my “Cat Stove” that I plan on testing out once my pot arrives in the mail. It runs off of Denatured Alcohol.

One response

  1. Please consider allowing us to follow your blog via email. Good luck on your hike!

    April 5, 2012 at 3:12 PM

Leave a Reply

