2012 AT Thru-Hike

An end of a chapter

Wednesday 21, 2012

Today was my last day working for WebMD, this was a great job and I was surrounded with wonderful colleagues. I’m sad to leave my job and life in the city, but excited to begin a new adventure.  I fly home next Tuesday and will spend a week at home in Mississippi before I take off for the trail.

The biggest obstacle that I’m dealing with is the fear of uncertainty.  Once you decide to take up an adventure like this, you build expectations, with those expectations come accountability. I have now just begun to let all my friends know that I am about to venture into the wilderness. So as of 6:05 PM on the 23rd of March it’s official, I plan to begin my hike at Amicalola Falls National Park on April 6th, the approach trail to Springer Mountain, and finish on top of Mount Katahdin in Maine some time in September.

Thursday 22, 2012

I spent the morning in Physical Therapy and then came home to prepare a few boxes of clothes, computer equipment, golf clubs to be sent home to Mississippi. Its seems as quickly as the room was filled with furniture, clothes, books, and gear, it’s back to just a few items.  I guess this would be a good time to post this but a little over a month ago I slightly strained a ligament and bruised my meniscus (knee). Living in New York can have its obstacles when trying to recover from injury. While my knee isn’t at 100% I’m confident with daily stretches and exercises I will be ready for the trail.

Now all I have left to do is to order a few more things online and prepare a few mail drops. The general consensus on Whiteblaze.com is that it is not necessary to receive mail drops. I plan on having at least 3-5 over the course of my hike, but that is all subject to change. I will eventually make a tab marking out all potential mail drops and locations.

Leave a Reply

