2012 AT Thru-Hike

Gear Testing

Today a buddie and I are going to Paragon sports and REI to look at various tents and sleeping bags. I have my eyes set on the MSR Hubba and MSR Carbonlite one person tents. I have no clue where to begin on sleeping bags. I have a EMS 40 degree bag for the summer but I am looking for a solid 15-20 degree bag. Let me know if you have any suggestions. I am going to look for all the minor things as well.

Boots/Shoes: I have always been an avid fan of Salomons, typically you would see me in a pair of cross-trails, but this year I think I’m going to opt for the boot style, a little more restriction in the leg but more ankle support and protection from the ground, water, dirt, etc. The model that I am looking at is the: Salomon XA Pro 3d Mid 2 GTX

My biggest concern at this point is food and drop box locations, I have been poking on many websites for ideas and still trying to cater one towards me.

Leave a Reply

